Explaining the Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF)

On 1 October 2015, the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) was officially launched.

The framework should help people understand all the qualifications we regulate, both general and vocational in England, as well as vocational in Northern Ireland, and how they relate to each other. Its intention is to improve consistency around how awarding organisations describe the size and challenge, or demand, of the qualifications they offer.

We’ve introduced the RQF because we think it’s important that there is still a frame of reference available now that the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) rules are no longer in operation.

Sizing up qualifications

We’ve asked the awarding organisations that we regulate to begin describing the size of their qualifications via their use ofing some new terminology – Total Qualification Time (TQT). TQT is, essentially, an indication of how long a typical learner might take to study for a qualification, including the time spent on their individual study and on assessment. It also includes Guided Learning Hours (GLH), which is the time spent actually being taught.
We know that some learners will study faster or slower than others, so size time needed for completion
really is a guide, not an absolute. But we know it’s useful to have an estimate of things like teaching and assessment time, not at least for those who plan timetables or who are responsible for funding. It’s also helpful to get an understanding of how long an employee might need to be away from work to study, or for knowing as an individual to know how much time you might be needed to dedicate to achieving your one’s qualification.

On the level

We’ve been careful to build on what already worked with qualification frameworks, and so the RQF uses the same levels that we are already familiar with: Entry 1 to 3 and Levels 1 to 8. The RQF maps to the Framework for Higher Education Qualifications, as well as to the European Qualifications Framework, as we know that portability is important to those either looking for jobs or seeking to employ people from across the continent.

While we have updated how the levels are described, we have not changed the demands of the levels themselves. The level descriptors are more outcome-focused now. They cover both academic and vocational qualifications, and they set out the ‘skills’ and ‘knowledge and understanding’ that one might typically expect of someone with a qualification at that level.


Qualifications can serve a wide variety of different purposes and assess varied skills and knowledge. So being at the same level, or of similar size, does not make qualifications directly equivalent to one another.

To understand how qualifications might compare, you need to examine them in more depth, and not just by size and level. To go back to our bookcase analogy, with qualifications as the books, we’d encourage you to take the books off the shelf and flick through the pages, and our online Register of Regulated Qualifications helps you to do this. We’re currently improving how our register works, and you can test out the prototype and provide feedback to us to help make it even better.

Our intention is that the RQF acts as a simple tool for describing qualifications. We don’t claim it will transform the qualifications landscape, but we do hope it will help people to understand qualifications a little better and to use them more confidently.

Source: Jeremy Benson
Executive Director for Vocational Qualifications – Ofqual

Leave a Reply

The National Diploma System of the UK

Level UK programs are accredited and recognized by Ofqual, within the UK National Competency Framework RQF.

Looking for a First-Class Business Plan Consultant?