OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Business ManagementEquivalent to Intermediate or Year 1 of a 3-year university

OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Business Studies aims to provide learners with general knowledge with specialized orientation. The program helps learners, after completing the second year, to work immediately as the manager of a small project, independent, can run one small function of a department or continue higher education to enter the last year, completed a bachelor’s program.

The 2nd year program focuses on people management, project management, marketing, finance for managers, international business law, business ethics and social responsibility.

Program Description
Ofqual inspection code603/2174/X
Level UK regulation frameworkRQF
Minimum training time1 year
Total credits120 Credits
Total learning time1200 Hours
Total time spent with instructors480 Hours
Training unitAccredited and licensed by the Level UK
Examination unitLevel UK
Licensing unitOTHM UK

Ofqual inspection code 603/2174/X

Training goals:

  • Manage business communication activities.
  • Understand the business environment and organizations in the context of global business and multinational enterprises.
  • Know the functions of a business including people management.
  • Know quantitative methods in business.
  • Understand finance for managers.
  • Know the method of research, self-study and report writing at the university level according to Swiss academic standards.

Mandatory Modules:

  • Research and Academic Writing (20 credits)
  • Business Environment (20 credits)
  • Introduction to Business Communication (20 credits)
  • Introduction to Quantitative Methods (20 credits)
  • Introduction to Business Functions (20 credits)
  • Introduction to Finance (20 credits)

Duration and Delivery:

The program is designed for full-time learning, online, or Hybrid learning in 1 year. In Vietnam, MBA Institute is the exclusive partner of the London Academy of Sciences (which owns the Level UK) that deploys academic support and program examining.

Assessment and verification:

All subjects of the Level UK program are evaluated by the London Academy of Sciences, the accreditation system and its partners are the OTHM UK. Learners must demonstrate mastery of knowledge and attain the competencies detailed in the program Syllabus.

Entry requirements:

  • Have NQF / QCF / RQF Level 3 Award / Diploma or GCE / GCSE or equivalent certificate. For Vietnamese learners, need to graduate from high school.
  • Learners must be 18 years or older
  • English exemption if study in English teaching school or having A Level, O Level, Level 3 certificates taught in English.
  • The London Academy of Sciences (which owns Level UK) reserves the right of admission decision based on the accrediting unit’s requirements and LAS’s global admission target.

English requirements:

  • English reached a minimum of CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference) level B2 or equivalent.
  • IELTS 5.5; Speaking and writing must reach 5.5 or equivalent.
  • In the absence of an English certificate, the London Academy of Sciences and its exclusive partner in Vietnam (MBA Institute) will conduct an internal English test and examine each candidate.

Programs achieve comprehensive recognition at both Institution and Program level. After graduation, learners will be received UK National Diploma, according to the regulatory framework accredited and recognized by Ofqual UK.

Because the program and qualifications are closely verified by reputable accrediting organizations, UK examination organizations…so after graduation, learners are confident to participate in the labor market or easily transfer to reputable and equivalent education systems

For more information on accreditation and recognition of Level UK, please refer HERE

OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Accounting and Business is a UK national degree program according to Level (UK Regulation Qualification Framework RQF) with Ofqual inspection code 603/2174/X

Diplomas are offered from Level UK programs within the UK’s national qualifications system, recognized not only by the UK government but also globally.

The table below describes the equivalence of the Level 4 UK Diploma qualifications systems and the world’s Levels education system.

LevelRegulation framework Equivalent Degrees
4Level UK (RQF)higher apprenticeship
higher national certificate (HNC)
level 4 diploma
level 4 NVQ
7Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)Advanced Higher
Higher National Certificates
Certificate of Higher Education
Professional Development Awards
Year 1 of a 3-year university Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ)Confirmation of year 1 in College
Certificate of higher education (CertHE)
5European Qualifications Framework (EQF)Level 4 Vocational Qualifications
Higher National Certificate (HNC)
5Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)Diploma
5African Continental Qualification Framework (ACQF)Higher Certificates
(Higher Education and Training)
4ASEAN Qualifications Reference Framework (AQRF)Level 4 Vocational Qualifications
Higher National Certificate (HNC)
4Vietnam Qualification Framework (VQF) Intermediate degree

After completing UK Level 4 Diploma, learners can learn Level 5 or transfer to other educational systems. The following table shows the development roadmap after completing the program:

LevelRegulation framework Equivalent Degrees
5Level UK (RQF)higher national diploma (HND)
level 5 diploma
level 5 NVQ
8Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF)Higher National Diplomas
Diploma of Higher Education
Professional Development Awards
Year 2 of a 3-year university Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ)Confirmation of year 2 in University
diploma of higher education (DipHE)
foundation degree
5European Qualifications Framework (EQF)Level 5 Vocational Qualifications
Higher National Diplomas (HND)
6Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)Associate Degree
Advance Diploma
6African Continental Qualification Framework (ACQF)(National) Diplomas
(Higher Education and Training)
5ASEAN Qualifications Reference Framework (AQRF)Level 5 Vocational Qualifications
Higher National Diplomas (HND)
5Vietnam Qualification Framework (VQF) College degree

Besides the transition system as mentioned above, according to National Qualification Framework and National Diploma systems, OTHM has partnered directly with some accredited training Institute and University to facilitate learner transition, receiving a dual degree or pathway study.

Note: OTHM graduator meets the requirement to enter universities where OTHM has direct cooperation. However, the university’s profile is considered individually and may add several input conditions depending on each school and each specific case.

List of possible universities to transfer from OTHM Level 4 Diploma in Business Studies:

The National Diploma System of the UK

Level UK programs are accredited and recognized by Ofqual, within the UK National Competency Framework RQF.

The Level UK Qualification system is a preeminent system that makes the process of recognizing competencies and qualifications easy.

Prof. Dr. Eric Olmedo
Expert in Hospitality and Tourism, United Nations

Level UK qualification is National and worldwide recognized